English Curriculum

The English curriculum at Abram Bryn Gates is underpinned by the Programmes on Study set out by the government in the revised National Curriculum 2013 and EYFS 2014, links to which are given below. Teachers ensure that children develop their speaking and listening, reading, writing, spelling and handwriting skills through meaningful and interesting lessons and links are made to other subject areas when possible. Lessons are enhanced by the incorporation of the principals of Ros Wilson’s Big Writing and Little Big Writing and Pie Corbett’s Talk for Writing.  In all classes, pupils learn and are encouraged to speak confidently and to listen respectfully to what others have to say.

English Programmes of Study


EYFS 2014



As children learn to read a strong emphasis is placed on phonics using the Letters and Sounds Programme and then Support for Spelling in Foundation Stage and KS1 and using Rapid Phonics as an intervention strategy for those children at KS2 in need of extra support while other children continue to develop spelling strategies using Collins Treasure House- Spelling, which supports the New National Curriculum, along with other resources.

Like most primary schools, Abram Bryn Gates uses a method of teaching called synthetic phonics.

At Abram Bryn Gates we follow a phonics scheme called Letter and Sounds to teach synthetic phonics.

Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education and Skills in 2007. It aims to build children’s speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven. 


Phonic Knowledge and Skills

Phase One (Reception)

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including   environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme,   alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two (Reception) up   to 6 weeks

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound   for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their   separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.

Phase Three (Reception) up   to 12 weeks

The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one   sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining   phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and   questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the   "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English   language.

Phase Four (Reception) 4 to   6 weeks

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are   taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segment longer words with   adjacent consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.

Phase Five (Throughout Year   1)

Now we move on to the "complex code".   Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus   different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.

Phase Six (Throughout Year   2 and beyond)

Working on spelling, including prefixes and   suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.


Throughout the school our aim is to encourage a love of reading and to ensure that children become fluent readers with a thorough understanding of the material that they read.

Reading Schemes Early Years and Key Stage 1 

At Abram Bryn Gates all our early reading books are colour banded.  Every colour band includes books from a variety of reading scheme so that they will experience a range of stories, text types and illustrations.  The majority of books within the early book bands can be decoded using phonic skills and knowledge.  We use a broad range of published schemes including Oxford Reading Tree, Dandelion Reading, Sounds Write, New Way, Collins, Ginn and Phonic Bug

Key Stage 2

All children at KS2 take home a reading book for homework to share with parents and carers. These reading books are graded in difficulty and are matched to children’s ability. They are primarily from Oxford Reading Tree but are supplemented by books from other schemes such as Wolf Hill and Trackers.